…… switching things up….

…..so after almost a year off …. mostly playing golf, visiting and doing many of the things you don’t get to do when you are working….. I have started on a new venture in the banking business, yes the world of credit and debits. I have received two very distinct reactions. From those who only know me from my life long career in radio they kind of scratch their heads, and mutter words like …”You’re crazy, you’ll want a media job soon, you’ll be back”… to,  “You’re doing what?”…. To others, it’s more curiosity and congratulations. If pressed for an explanation, I really don’t have one. The opportunity came up, I talked it over with Lisa and thought it might be something that would challenge me over the next few years, and agreed to give it a go. No over-thinking, no preconceived ideas of what might be. Simply a new adventure.

Dad, Mom and Me (1956)

Dad, Mom and Me (1956)

However, upon some reflection the die may have been cast many years ago. My dad did something quite similar, albeit much more challenging. After 30 years as a tool and die man (machinist) and when a new trade school opened not far from home in Maine, he thought about teaching the trade. However, this took some initiative from a guy who hadn’t been to school since high school. Factually, he failed to graduate from lack of attendance. He obtained his GED in his thirties, and made a deep impression on his three boys to avoid following that path. So much so, I remember telling him on one occasion, I disliked math, to which he took it as I was quitting school and lit me up verbally as he was want to do from time to time.  To teach at the trade school he had to gain accreditation, which he did and went on teach the trade he excelled for almost 20 years.

So I had seen him decide to veer off the beaten path to do something foreign. So like so many things in my life I have to thank him (and my mom by his side at every step) for showing me the example of how things can be done.

Dad and Mom (2012)

Dad and Mom (2012)

Thanks Dad

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

